Convention Reviews

Here is a list of all my convention reviews. I started attending conventions in 2009 and over the past 8 years (as of writing this) I've appeared at over 100 conventions, spanning fandom-specific weekend events (such as those organised by 'Starfury' and 'Rogue'), signing events, and 'Comic Cons'. Unfortunately, until the start of 2013, I didn't write reviews or keep detailed notes, so the events I attended from 2009-2012 will forever remain solely in the confines of my memory banks. However, starting with 'London Film & Comic Con 2013', I have written highly detailed reviews. The amount of detail, trivia facts, notes, and titbits contained within these reviews cannot be overstated. I sincerely hope that you enjoy reading them. If you see me at a convention (I'm usually at 15+ a year in the U.K. and the odd overseas event), please don't be afraid to say 'hi'. I rarely bite hard.

Firstly, there is a list of all the individual conventions, complete with who I met, the rating I gave the convention, and a link to my detailed review of the event.

A red rating is a low score (0-4), yellow is a neutral score (4.5-7.5), and green is a high score (8-10). 

Finally, below all of that, we have my links to yearly reviews. This is where I assign my 'Convention of the Year', compare the similarities and differences between events, and offer advice.

 (Yes, this is me. Taken from the 'Wales Comic Con' website. Still one of my finest achievements)


CONVENTION NAME
MONTH
RATING
LINK
London Film & Comic Con 2013
July
9/10
 HERE
Peter Dinklage, Norman Reedus, Lena Headey, Jason Momoa, Armin Shimerman, Finn Jones, Clive Russell, Sarah Wayne Callies & Diamond Dallas Page




Film & Comic Con Cardiff 2013
September
 7/10
 HERE
Anthony Head, Miltos Yerolemou & Sabu




London Film & Comic Con (Winter) 2013
October
 7.5/10
 HERE
Jon Bernthal, Michael Rooker, Julian Glover, Walter Jones & Chavo Guerrero Jr.




Hallowhedon 5 (2013)
October
9.5/10
 HERE
Alexis Denisof, Tom Lenk, K. Todd Freeman, Sarah Hagan, Jeff Ricketts, Jane Espenson & Brad Bell


Vampire Ball 4 (2013)
November
8/10
 HERE
Christian Kane, Georges Jeanty, Jim Parrack, Michael McMillian, Kris Holden-Ried & Paul Amos



Wales Comic Con 2014 Part I
April
8.5/10
 HERE
Warwick Davis, Mark Addy, James Cosmo, Ellie Kendrick, Ian McElhinney, Aimee Richardson, Kerry Ingram, Charlie Adlard, Vader & Rikishi




London Film & Comic Con 2014
July
7/10
 HERE
Stan Lee, Anthony Head, Juliet Landau, Summer Glau, Robert Knepper, Billie Dee Williams, Gethin Anthony, Sibel Kekilli, Amy 'Lita' Dumas, James Storm, Al Snow, David Yost & TJ Thyne




Vampire Ball 5 (2014)
September
10/10
 HERE
James Marsters, Emma Caulfield, Jeff Ricketts, George Hertzberg, Jonathan Woodward & Dayne Johnson




London Film & Comic Con (Winter) 2014
October
6.5/10
 HERE
Ralph Macchio, Jerome Flynn, Miltos Yerolemou, Ross Mullan, Andrew Rothenberg, Michael Koske, Alberto Del Rio, Rikishi, Brian Christopher & Scotty 2 Hotty




Hallowhedon 6 (2014)
October
8.5/10
 HERE
Clare Kramer, Mark Metcalf, Troy Blendell & Andy Umberger




Wales Comic Con 2014 Part II
November
8.5/10
 HERE
Anthony Head, Emily Head, Mark Sheppard, Ian Beattie, Road Warrior Animal, Booker T, Lance Storm, Paul London & Doug Williams




Buffy Fanmeet (2014)
December
8.5/10
 HERE
Eliza Dushku, James Marsters & Nicky Brendon




Film & Comic Con Cardiff 2015
March
6.5/10
 HERE
Ray Park, Daniel Portman, Samuel Anderson, Dave Prowse & Bob 'Hardcore' Holly




Stoke Con Trent 2015
April
7/10
 HERE
Aimee Richardson & Spencer Wilding




Wales Comic Con 2015 Part I
April
9/10
 HERE
Nicky Brendon, Sean Maher, RVD, Eric Bischoff, Kerry Ingram, Ross Mullan, Conan Stevens, Mark Sheppard, Andy Kellegher & Josephine Gillan




Collectormania: Milton Keynes 2015
June
7.5/10
 HERE
Nick Blood, William Sadler, Chad Coleman, Art Parkinson, Eugene Simon, Charlotte Hope, Toby Sebastian, Alexandra Dowling, Steven Williams, Bubba Dudley, D-Von Dudley, Christopher Daniels, Frankie Kazarian & Peter Ebdon




London Film & Comic Con 2015
July
8.5/10
 HERE
Hayley Atwell, Rose Leslie, Carice Van Houten, Iain Glen, David Bradley, Michael Gambon, Rey Mysterio, James Remar, Catherine Tate, Jonathan Pryce, Julian Glover, Alexander Siddig, Robert Englund, Jason David Frank, Kristian Nairn, Keisha-Castle Hughes, Jessica Henwick, Gemma Whelan, Sean Gunn, Gregg Henry & Peter Shinkoda




Vampire Ball 6 (2015)
November
9/10
 HERE
J. August Richards, Charisma Carpenter, George Hertzberg, James Leary, Keith Szarabajka, Clare Kramer & Georges Jeanty




Wales Comic Con 2015 Part II
November
9/10
 HERE
Chris Jericho, Sean 'X-Pac' Waltman, Mark Lutz, DJ Qualls, Ian McElhinney, Ian Beattie, Mark Stanley, Dean-Charles Chapman, Nonso Anozie, Kate Dickie, Miltos Yerolemou, James Cosmo, Ross O'Hennessy, Chris Rankin, Hugh Mitchell, Justin Lee Collins & Four Star Mary




London Film & Comic Con (Spring)
February
6.5/10
 HERE
Nick Frost, Kurt Angle, Clare Higgins, Mark 
Stanley & Jessica Henwick




Wales Comic Con 2016 Part I
April
9.5/10
 HERE
James Marsters, Amber Benson, Jerome Flynn, Jason Momoa, Mark Addy, Kerry Ingram, Ian Gelder, Roger Ashton-Griffiths, Ian Whyte, Elizabeth Webster, Esme Bianco, Neil Fingleton, Booker T, Ricky Steamboat, Miriam Margolyes, Chris Rankin, Hugh Mitchell, Rachel Miner, Xander Berkeley, Peter Davison, Sylvester McCoy, Dan Starkey, Jemma Redgrave, Shaun Parkes & Gareth David-Lloyd




Em-Con 2016
May
8/10
 HERE
Austin St. John, Peter Davison, Sylvester McCoy, Neve McIntosh, Catrin Stewart, Shaun Parkes, David Bradley, Joe Altin, Ian Beattie, Dominic Carter, Hannah Waddingham & Lew Temple




Prophecy (2016)
June
9.5/10
 HERE
Marc Blucas, Anthony Head, J. August Richards, Stephanie Romanov, Tom Lenk, Adam Busch, Mark Lutz & Brody Hutzler




London Film & Comic Con 2016
July
8.5/10
 HERE
Jeremy Renner, Mads Mikkelsen, Jack Gleeson, Natalia Tena, Daniel Portman, Gemma Whelan, Joe Naufahu, Kae Alexander, Richard Brake, Anton Lesser, Kristian Nairn, Sam Coleman, Ellie Kendrick, Faye Marsay, Donald Sumpter, Sean Maher, Elden Henson, Michelle Gomez, Paul McGann, Laurie Holden, Jamie Harris, Edge, Bob 'Hardcore' Holly, Famke Janssen, Aaron Stanford, Dominic Monaghan, Peter Mayhew & Dave Prowse




Worcester Comic Con 2016
August
9/10
 HERE
Peter Davison, Julian Glover, Sarah Louise Madison, Joe Altin, Ian McNeice & Jeremy Bulloch




Stars Of Time 2016
August
6/10
 HERE
Colin Baker & Miltos Yerolemou




Film & Comic Con Bournemouth 2016
September
8/10
 HERE
Ray Park, Maya Stojan, Danny Webb & Angelina Love




Gloucester Comic Con 2016
October
BIASED
 HERE
Colin Baker, Danny John-Jules, Chris Barrie, Robert Llewellyn, Hattie Hayridge, Spencer Wilding, Ceri-Ann Williams, Virginia Hey, Sophie Aldred, Terry Molloy, Simon Fisher-Becker, Ian McNeice, Paul Warren, Brian Wheeler, Nick Joseph & Grant Perkins




Film & Comic Con Cardiff 2016
October
6.5/10
 HERE
Gemma Whelan, Donald Sumpter, Oliver Ford Davies, Kae Alexander, Reece Noi, Jimmy Vee, Pip Torrens, Tiana Benjamin, Anna Shaffer, Georgina Leonidas, Robert Llewellyn & Chloe Annett




Wales Comic Con 2016 Part II
November
9.5/10
 HERE
James Marsters, Nicky Brendon, Kristine Sutherland, Manu Bennett, Tom Wlaschiha, Mark Addy, Ian McElhinney, Ian Hanmore, Joe Altin, David Bradley, Ric Flair, Billy Gunn, Chris Rankin, Josh Herdman, Matt Ryan, Thomas Ian Nicholas, Kevin McNally, Corin Nemec, Gareth David-Lloyd, Naoko Mori & Kai Owen




Reading Comic Con 2016
November
7.5/10
 HERE
Clive Russell, Aimee Richardson, Kerry Ingram, Ross Mullan & Ceri-Ann Williams




Vampire Ball 7 (2016)
December
10/10
 HERE
Eliza Dushku, Robia LaMorte, Clare Kramer, Miracle Laurie, Jonathan Woodward & James Leary




Film & Comic Con Cardiff 2017
March
6.5/10
 HERE
Indira Varma, Clive Russell, Elizabeth Webster, Alistair Petrie, Bai Ling & Jimmy Vee




MCM Birmingham 2017
March
8/10
 HERE
Billie Piper & Louise Brealey




Wales Comic Con 2017 Part I
April
10/10
 HERE
Nicky Brendon, Emma Caulfield, Mick Foley, Amy 'Lita' Dumas, Lou Ferrigno, TJ Thyne, John Rhys-Davies, Ian McElhinney, James Cosmo, Tom Hopper, Dominic Carter, Brian Fortune, Fintan McKeown, Chris Rankin, Gideon Emery, Matt Ryan, Emmett Scanlan, Ke Huy Quan & Justin Lee Collins




Em-Con 2017
April
8.5/10
 HERE
Arthur Darvill, Bonnie Wright, David Yost & Joe Altin




Our Disappearing Planet 2 (2017)
May
7/10
 HERE
Bernard Cribbins, Annette Badland, Gareth David-Lloyd, John Leeson, Peter Purves, Matthew Waterhouse, Jill Curzon & Ray Brooks




Collectormania: Birmingham 2017
June
7.5/10
 HERE
Ming-Na Wen, John Barrowman, Julie Benz, Dean Cain, Christian, Beth Phoenix, Ronnie O'Sullivan, Jimmy White, Marc Warren, Tony Curran, Daniel Portman, Ron Donachie, Devon Murray, Nana Visitor, Jeffrey Combs & Daniel Naprous








Yearly Reviews
YEAR
RATING
LINK
Recapping & Ranking
     2014
 -
 HERE

Recapping & Ranking
2015
-
 HERE

Recapping & Ranking
2016
-
 HERE


No comments:

Post a Comment